Cultivating Beauty in Marriage

Do you understand what it means to have godly beauty in your marriage? When you gaze at your spouse, do you see a radiance that reflects their deep connection with the divine? Or do you sense a heaviness, a lack of joy despite outward appearances?

In my own journey, I’ve come to recognize the profound transformation that occurs when Jesus is at the center of a marriage. It wasn’t always this way for us. While the smile may have been present, the true light of Christ was not. Yet, when we invited Jesus into our marriage, everything changed. My wife began to exude a glow that could only come from God Himself. I call this “glow” – godly beauty!

Perhaps you find yourself in a similar situation, yearning to recapture that spiritual vibrancy in your marriage. The first step is to evaluate your vertical relationship with the Lord. If it’s faltering, then it’s no surprise that your horizontal relationship with your spouse may also be struggling. Strengthening your connection with God lays the foundation for restoring harmony within your marriage.

But what if you feel content in your relationship with God? Consider then, what unresolved issues persist in your marriage. Could it be that without a solid spiritual grounding, you and your spouse are unable to effectively address these challenges together? Aligning yourselves spiritually allows God’s love to flow freely between you, igniting a transformation that transcends earthly troubles.

I speak from personal experience when I say that trying to play God in our marriage only led to frustration and false confidence. It wasn’t until I humbled myself before God, allowing Him to shape me into the man He intended me to be, that true change began to take root. As God became the focal point of my life and of our marital union, His light dispelled the darkness, and even on the toughest days, His presence sustains us. His power protects us and guides us as we navigate life’s challenges together. His love frees us to live “as one flesh” and enjoy deepened intimacy, where forgiveness and grace flow freely.

So I ask you again, how is your vertical relationship with God? Have you invited Jesus into every aspect of your life and marriage? Take a moment to reflect on where you stand spiritually, for therein lies the key to unlocking the godly beauty within your marriage.

Leave a comment